Already a Member? Log In Here


Programs > EMS > eACLS

Through the Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) online recertification program offered in partnership with Jones and Bartlett Learning and in association with the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), participants are provided with case-based training materials for advanced cardiac life support education. Those seeking continuing education in ACLS, will benefit from the high level of participant interaction in this online program.

These accredited ACLS courses include over 500 photos, illustrations, and animations that are accompanied by 200 live-action video clips. These visual aids are designed to support ACLS recertification training, and they help participants in assessing and managing real-life emergencies involving cardiac or respiratory problems. Just like traditional ACLS certification, students who successfully complete our online ACLS recertification training will earn a certificate that is valid for 2 years.*

Each case study includes five sections that refresh and test your knowledge of the following:

  • Your patient: Provides a description of the patient
  • Assessment: Provides refresher information on signs and symptoms, assessment tools and techniques, as well as ECG interpretation
  • Treatment: Provides refresher information on treatment options
  • Interactivities: Features interactive exercises that are designed to teach new concepts and reinforce learning
  • Simulation: Reproduces real-life emergency situations and asks you to respond appropriately

These accredited ACLS courses are designed for professionals seeking ACLS recertification but can be used in conjunction with higher education.

eACLS™ has been developed to enable advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) providers to complete their recertification training easily and economically through the completion of interactive, cognitive activities that satisfy the didactic requirements of ACLS training. Providers then proceed to complete their hands-on required skills test. The content covered in the eACLS™ course is consistent with the 2010 International Consensus Guidelines for CPR and ECC and what is covered in other nationally recognized ACLS courses.

In order to receive continuing education in ACLS and an official eACLS™ course completion card, users must attend and complete the required skills provided by a local institution or agency acting as an eACLS™ training center. The four skills involve:

  • CPR and AED (exempt if you possess proof of current CPR/AED training)
  • Airway and ventilation management
  • ECG arrhythmia recognition and treatment modalities
  • Megacode

Note – Training centers can combine the skills above into one master megacode station, or test these as individual stations. Students can be easily integrated into existing ACLS skills stations offered through other organizations.

A course user has 1 year to complete the accredited eACLS™ course.

The eACLS™ course has been approved by CAPCE. NREMT will accept continuing education credits from ACLS programs that are CAPCE or state EMS office approved. All 50 states have been contacted regarding state approval for the eACLS™ course, and have indicated that CAPCE approval is sufficient.

Following successful completion of the cognitive portion of the eACLS™ course, continuing education credits are immediately awarded as follows:

  • 6 advanced continuing education hours (CEH) provided by the Continuing Education Coordinating Board for Emergency Medical Services (CAPCE).

The eACLS™ course completion card is valid for a period of 2 years.

The final written exam is comprised of 40 multiple choice questions (5 per case study). The questions are based on the objectives of the case studies and include ECGs when appropriate. Once the exam is completed, it is graded instantly, and any wrong answers are remediated. Users must score at least 80% to pass the course. If a user fails the first exam, he or she is given a second opportunity to pass a different exam after an opportunity for further remediation through the eACLS™ “Resources” section. If the user fails the second exam, he or she will have to repeat the course.